Book Review: Black Matter by GD Parker

The future is now… it’s terrifying!!!

Humanity locks jaws with the ever-increasing human desires towards highly advanced technological innovations making the world a dangerous place.

Unanticipated horrific consequences unfold for Tommy McGregor when he partakes in a new high-tech innovation to enhance his health and wellbeing.

He thought it would make him healthier, better looking and live forever…DI Valentina is out of her comfort zone when she’s tasked to track down a killer, unknown to her, hidden behind a digital mask.

The future has already fallen upon humanity as she soon discovers, nothing is as it seems anymore as society embarks in technology that’s already here.

A terrifying mystery, it feeds your imaginative mind’s eye – a fast-paced “whoisit” thrilling crime, novel that will leave you guessing until the end, (or will it?) As it leaves the hairs on your arms stand on end as you uncontrollably turn each page in this 3 part series.

Black Matter is the debut novel from British born author Gareth Parker.

It is a glimpse into a very near future where technology is deeply ingrained, in some cases physically, into our lives.

The story follows Tommy, a young man in his early thirties who makes the decision to have a medical implant placed in his brain which will allow him to monitor his health more accurately.

Little does he know that this is slightly more sinister than advertised.

A pretty good read. It takes a few pages to find its feet. For me, it did feel like a debut novel to begin with.

However, as it progresses and it gets into the rhythm it starts to flow nicely.

The characters are, on the whole, pretty believable and I felt that I had a good feel for the main ones by the time I was about a quarter of the way through.

 

 

There are one or two parts which I feel could have benefited from more explanation, but as this is to be the first part of a trilogy that explanation may be yet to come.

I enjoyed this book and I look forward to sampling more of GD Parker’s work. This book is perfect for fans of Black Mirror and it is the beginning of a very promising series.

 

About GD Parker

GD Parker is the author of his debut novel, Black Matter. Book one of a three-part series that explores the depths of the unfolding high-tech world we now live in, making it a dangerous place.

The novel will be available to purchase in e-book and paperback formats on the Amazon store.

Gareth was born in the UK in 1981. A family man spent much of his working life in South Wales working in a professional capacity. One day he made the decision write about an idea he dreamt about.

Still working full time for a large organisation, he enjoys reading all manner of books, and spending time with his world – his family.

Say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/GDParker_Author 

Click to view Black Matter at Amazon UK and Amazon US.

 

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather
Chris Parish

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Novel Kicks is a blog for story tellers and book lovers.

Facebook
Twitter
Google+
Pinterest
LinkedIn
INSTAGRAM
RSS
Follow by Email
Book Club
Book Club
Twitter
Poll
Archives
Categories