Blog Tour: The Corfe Castle Murders by Rachel McLean

Book Review: The Corfe Castle Murders by Rachel McLean

Meet DCI Lesley Clarke. She’s a straight-talking city copper who doesn’t suffer fools gladly… and she’s been transferred to rural Dorset.

After being injured in a bomb attack, Lesley is presented with a choice – early retirement, or a period of respite in a calmer location.

But things don’t stay calm for long.

Before she’s even started her new job, Lesley is dragged into investigating a murder at one of England’s most iconic landmarks, the imposing Corfe Castle.

Lesley must hit the ground running. Can she get along with her new partner DS Dennis Frampton, a traditionalist who doesn’t appreciate her style? How will she navigate the politics of a smaller force where she’s a bigger, and less welcome, fish? And most importantly, can she solve the murder before the killer strikes again?

The Corfe Castle Murders is a compelling, character-driven mystery perfect for fans of Ruth Rendell, Colin Dexter, Faith Martin and Joy Ellis.

Detective Lesley Clarke has just moved from Birmingham to Dorset for six months. She needs time away after two big cases and an injury deeply impacted her life.

As the new DCI, she has a new team. They, for the most part are welcoming. Dennis however, prefers traditional methods and isn’t fully on board at the beginning with how Lesley works.

The day before she is due to begin, there is a murder and Lesley finds herself thrown straight into a case and the mystery of the man who came before her.

The Corfe Castle Murders is the first in the Dorset Crime Book series by author, Rachel McLean.

Lesley is a complex character who has a lot going on in her life. I feel that there is more to her than meets the eye and I hope this is further explored as the book series progresses.

The supporting characters were great although I found Dennis to be a little frustrating. In my opinion, his view of the world didn’t particularly aline with modern thinking. I did find it interesting how his attitudes evolved over the course of the book.

Continue reading

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Novel Kicks is a blog for story tellers and book lovers.

Book Club
Book Club
Twitter
Archives
Categories