Book Review: A Wedding at Sandy Cove by Bella Osborne

A big huge welcome back to Bella Osborne. She’s here with the blog tour for her latest novel, A Wedding At Sandy Cove.

Escape to Sandy Cove, where the scent of summer and the sound of wedding bells are in the air!

Ella makes brides’ dreams come true – there’s no dress she can’t make perfect with her sewing skills and some sparkle. But Ella’s own love life is no fairy tale. Recently dumped, surrounded by fussy brides and with the prospect of wearing a hideous brown bridesmaids dress to her friend’s wedding, Ella feels more alone than ever so agrees to go on a blind date.

A mix up on the night introduces her to Kit. 

Kit is definitely not the man she was supposed to meet, but he could end up changing her life in ways she never thought possible…

A perfectly funny, feel-good summer romance that will whisk you away to sandy beaches and a seaside wedding. Fans of Cathy Bramley, Katie Fforde and Milly Johnson will adore Bella Osborne.

*****

Working at a wedding dress shop, Ella is used to seeing other brides get their happily ever after. Her own life is totally different.

Dumped by her boyfriend and with her best friend’s wedding coming up, Ella lets herself get set up on a blind date. When she’s stood up, she bumps into Kit who is about to change her life forever.

I am always so excited when there is a new novel by Bella Osborne and I was pleased to be invited onto the blog tour for A Wedding at Sandy Cove.

First of all, the cover for this novel is so beautiful. You immediately feel the romance before you’ve even started the book.

I was immediately pulled into Ella’s story. She’s a sweet character and it was nice to see that this doesn’t change even when she begins to stick up for herself. She doesn’t lose her ability to see the good in people and I loved that.

Kit is a great example of someone who steps up when he needs to particularly when it comes to his family.

Lucy is brilliant. Feisty and strong. Her way of putting things is brilliant, especially her descriptions of certain characters. She does have a vulnerable side which makes her feel relatable. In fact, all the characters show flaws and are all dealing with issues which make them all feel very real.

There is great character development throughout.

The plot moves at a great pace. It tackles many themes – divorce and break ups, having the courage of your convictions, having faith in people as well as yourself and taking a chance at your dreams. It shows strong family relationships as well as friendships.

Bella has such a talent of weaving romance in her novels that has you falling for the setting (I felt like I was in Norfolk looking at the beautiful scenery,) as well as the characters.

Oh, and I want to adopt Pirate the cat. Not sure how my cats would feel about that though. Haha.

A Wedding at Sandy Cove is a charming, whimsical novel that has many laugh out loud moments as well as heart-warming scenes. There is drama, tension and of course, romance.

This is a perfect companion to that summer holiday or if you’re simply looking to escape for a while. I really enjoyed this novel and felt so sad when it ended – it definitely caused a book hangover.

(Thank you to Avon, Rachel’s Random Resources and Netgalley for the advanced reading copy in exchange for an honest review.) 

 

About Bella Osborne: 

Bella has been jotting down stories as far back as she can remember but decided that 2013 would be the year that she finished a full length novel. Since then she’s written a number of best-selling romantic comedies and book club reads and won the RNA Romantic Comedy Novel of the Year Award 2022.

Bella’s stories are about friendship, love and coping with what life throws at you. She likes to find the humour in the darker moments of life and weaves these into her stories. She lives in The Midlands, UK with her husband, daughter and a cat who thinks she’s a dog. When not writing Bella is usually eating custard creams and planning holidays.

For more about Bella, visit her website or follow her on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram

To read Bella’s previous columns on Novel Kicks, click here

A Wedding at Sandy Cove was released by Avon on 21st July 2022. Click to buy on Amazon UK, Waterstones and Amazon US.

 

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather
Laura
I’m Laura. I started Novel Kicks in 2009. I wanted a place to post my writing as well as give other writers like me the opportunity to do the same. There is also a monthly book club, a writing room which features writing prompts, book reviews, competitions, author interviews and guest posts.

I grew up by the sea (my favourite place in the world) and I currently live in Hampshire. I am married to Chris, have a cat named Buddy and I would love to be a writer. I’m trying to write the novel I’ve talked so much about writing if only I could stop pressing delete. I’ve loved writing since creative writing classes in primary school. I have always wanted to see my teacher Miss Sayers again and thank her for the encouragement. When not trying to write the novel or writing snippets of stories on anything I can get my hands on, I love reading, dancing like a loon and singing to myself very badly. My current obsession is Once Upon a Time and I would be happy to live with magic in the enchanted forest surrounded by all those wonderful stories provided that world also included Harry Potter. I love reading chick lit. contemporary fiction and novels with mystery.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Novel Kicks is a blog for story tellers and book lovers.

Book Club
Book Club
Twitter
Archives
Categories