Quick Spotlight: The Art of Getting Started by Lee Crutchley

http://leecrutchley.co.uk/

http://leecrutchley.co.uk/

For fans of books like Wreck This Journal and The Pointless Book.

The Art of Getting Started is a little interactive journal. It’s great to kick-start creativity or if you’re like me, something to do when you need time away from a project that is giving you trouble and you want to distract your mind.

What drew me to this book is all the fantastic activities in it. There’s drawing and writing exercises (including list making. Perfect for me. I love lists.) This book had me at the first page as it asks you to fill it with positive words. It’s also filled with great quotes to inspire you too. A small thing but it’s also small enough to fit into your handbag so you can carry it with you if you wanted to.

I am enjoying making my way through this book and I wanted to share it with you.

About The Art of Getting Started: 

The ideal companion for all creative minds – The Art of Getting Started is the long missing piece of the creative puzzle. As a self-professed procrastinator, illustrator Lee Crutchley knows the ‘first blank page’ all too well and has used his expertise to devise a unique variety of impulsive habits to kick start the brain. Through a series of hand-written tasks and challenges Lee leads the reader through a range of lively prompts to shift the perspective and get those creative juices flowing again in new and surprising ways.

Quick fire questions encourage impulsive decisions, tapping instantly into creative instincts, learning the best way to engage the mind into getting that all important start. Be prepared to write, draw, cook and explore as this stimulating, witty and hands-on guide takes readers to inspirational heights and as a capable right-hand-man, it will be tough to be without it. Taking ‘back to basics’ to a new level. 

To view on Amazon, click here. 

Lee’s website: http://leecrutchley.co.uk/

TAoGS-06 art-of-getting-started-2-540x374

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather
Novel Kicks
About Novel Kicks/Laura...
Novel Kicks was founded in 2009 and is run by Laura who is currently living in Hampshire, and lives with husband, Chris and her cat, Buddy. She would love to be a writer. She’s trying to write the novel she thinks so much about. She’s loved reading and writing since ‘Creative Writing’ classes in primary school. When not trying to write the novel or writing snippets of stories on anything she can get her hands on, she loves reading, dancing like a loon, and watching Project Runway and Ugly Betty (her two TV guilty pleasures.) She also has an obsession with chocolate and Jammie Dodgers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Novel Kicks is a blog for story tellers and book lovers.

Facebook
Twitter
Google+
Pinterest
LinkedIn
INSTAGRAM
RSS
Follow by Email
Book Club
Book Club
Twitter
Poll
Archives
Categories